First Days of Heli………….. photos Mark Taylor

February 28, 2011

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

So, Heli Skiing in Alaska is scary. You get dumped on top of a mountain you’ve never seen the side of, you can’t tell how far anything is away, you’re on a tiny little ridge and you know the avalanche danger is high……… You also feel super alive, you can feel the earth under your feet and you breathe deep and tell your guide through the two way…. DROPPING!!  Then you get humbled….. you realise that thing you thought was about 200 metres away is actually 600 metres away, you feel your legs burning and your breath is like fire on your lungs, you wonder why you came here and you wonder why you didn’t spend the whole pre-season running 100km a day at high altitude…… this place is for big boys and I think at the moment I am still toddling and sometimes the only thing I think is “Dropping” is my stomach when I get left on the top of a 5000 foot line and I am standing on top of a 3 metre wide ridge with near certain death in the case of a fall to the south face.

Haines Alaska is real, the consequences are real and the fear is real. All you can really do is take a breath and hope you’re prepared……….

All that said, this place is amazing. The people guiding and teaching us are the best in the world. We have the lead guide and Alaska guide for TGR teaching us, we have spent 5 days under the tuition of Bill Glude, one of the world leaders in Avalanche research and the guides here come from some seriously gnarly mountaneering, skiing and climbing backgrounds…. I trust their judgements and I feel safer in their presence. Will I ever be one?? I am not sure, but I definitely know I am alive everyday I wake up here…..

7 Responses to “First Days of Heli………….. photos Mark Taylor”

  1. Mum said

    WOW – just WOW !! I am so scared for you but so proud of you. I am sitting here with the same feeling in my stomach as you probably had jumping out of that helicopter. Your Dad would be blown away, I pray he is there with you – keeping you safe. I know he too would just be so excited and proud of you.
    Take care my beautiful boy.

  2. Mick T said

    The prose is as good as the scenery. Stunning.
    Thanks Cory

  3. silver fox said

    Hope you guys are safe and enjoying the powder the moutain hear is rock hard its great fun skiing a race piste every day no fresh snow yet please can you send over some of yours regards Silver Fox

    • Hi Mike, did you see I have put a link on here for you…. whats your website so I can put a link to ski skills there too…… yeah we had some snow yesterday there are pockets of snow about for some shredding… I am gonna be here for a while so I can wait for some good stuff….. how is your season going…?? Regards Cory

  4. Judy Booton said

    Cory, I am in awe of the things you are doing and Know that I am sure that those above you are watching you and riding along with you. !! kick butt.
    ??? Do you get a chance to admire the scenery before you start the drop…………………..

  5. Sue said

    Whew……… sounds.. awe inspiring…… well done…looking forward to seeing some photos..

Leave a Reply

